OC TAS Girls Football Champions! | Ormiston College

Search Results for

OC TAS Girls Football Champions!

Ormiston College created history at the TAS Girls Football Carnival last Saturday at Canterbury College winning both the Middle School and Senior School competitions in emphatic style.

The popularity of football saw the Redbacks enter a record 3 teams in the Middle School competition and 2 teams in the Senior Division.

Middle School Champion Again! (2016-2018)

OC Blue, the champion team, recovered from a first-round loss to win the next 4 games and secure a final spot against Canterbury College. In a tense grand final Captain Abby Vester scored the winning goal ensuring the trophy returned to Dundas Street. Abby was a standout throughout the tournament showcasing the talent that led to her recent selection in the 2019 QAS team.

The team consisted of Paris Mertens, Annabelle Arnold, Sarah Arnold, Molly Degraaf, Leila Hargreaves, Katie Jacobsen, Maisie Johnson, Rosie Prevost, Abby Vester c), and Abigail Walters. The future looks bright at OC! Special thanks to Coach Andy Johnson for providing his time and guidance to our dedicated and enthusiastic girls.

The OC Maroon and White teams battled and showed determination throughout the tournament. Although many of the girls were playing in their first tournament, the improvement showed by many of the girls places the Redbacks well for the 2019 competition.

Senior Girls Create History!

OC Maroon dominated the TAS Girls competition scoring 24 goals and conceding only 1 goal to clinch the trophy for the first time.

The girls demonstrated outstanding team play, skill, determination, resilience and true OC spirit throughout the tournament. After winning Pool A, the Redbacks outclassed JPC in the semi-final 3-0 to book a spot in the last dance against the 2017 champions Canterbury College.

The Grand Final was a tight affair as expected. Although OC dominated possession, Canterbury proved worthy opponents by holding out several OC attacks. A serious leg injury to leading goal scorer Isabella Thaesler provided some added motivation and sparked the Redbacks into action. With 4 minutes to go Bronte McPhee scored the crucial goal to create history for the Senior Girls. It was a privilege to coach such a champion group of young ladies. We wish Isabella a speedy recovery.

The champion team consisted of Eliza Barnett, Daniella Cianciola, Bianca De Abreu, Bronte McPhee, Piper McPhee, Chelsea Riley, Hannah Thaesler, Isabella Thaesler and Dasha Karaulova. Many of these girls were part of the championship winning Middle School teams of 2016 and 2017.

Phillip Makridakis